Bonbon Amidon (Starch cookies)

I think I have a very strong olfactory (smell) memory.
It’s something that I’ve tried to understand and that I yet get to decipher.
Most people could smell something and it could remind them of a moment in time, of a certain food or a person.
But in my case, it’s totally different. It’s the opposite. I can ” smell ” a memory.
For example, I’d remember a moment, a certain food or a person and the smell would come to mind.
The scent/aroma would just come out of nowhere.
It’s in my brain. As in, the particles are not floating in the air, yet that memory is coded by that smell.

…Ok! I think you’ve had enough of my weird talk. lol
Why am I talking about smells and memories?
Well, from the title you probably can guess that this morning the smell of Starch cookies just kept bothering me. I’ve been craving them and I think I only had them once. So how come that memory is so strong? No idea!

Here we go.
Starch cookies’ ingredients are almost similar to those of regular sugar cookies.
The only difference is that one ingredient is substituted for another.
Starch replaces flour.
Starch has a certain consistency about it. It would make the cookies look brittle. However, after each bite, they melt in your mouth.

I’ve been looking for a recipe all over the place but I think I’ve found one that is pretty accurate!
Right here

Since it’s in FRENCH. I’ll translate

Ingredients

  • 2 eggs
  • powdered cinnamon
  • powdered  nutmeg
  • vanilla essence
  • 1/2 lb (about 1 cup) of sugar
  • 1 cup of butter (16tbsps = 2 sticks)
  • 4 cups of starch (I’d use cornstarch)
  • 2 tsp of baking powder
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • lemon zest

Directions

  1. Sift starch and baking powder together
  2. Add eggs, butter, lemon zest, vanilla essence, cinnamon and nutmeg
  3. Slowly add the dry mixtures until firm.
  4. Sprinkle some flour over your counter. Roll your dough and use a cookie cutter to separate.
  5. Place some parchment paper on your sheet pan ( you can also coat the surface with butter) then place your cutouts on it.
  6. Cook for 20 mns at 350F
