PAPITA (fried plantains- cut longitudinally)

131I’m baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaack !
I haven’t stopped cooking. Actually , that’s all I seem to have been doing.
I do it so much that I think I might be getting better at my Haitian cooking skills!
Well, I’m slowly getting there.
Some people that read my posts think that I’m some cordon bleu but please, do keep in mind that all I’m doing is exploring the cooking of Haitian food.

So lately, I’ve been thinking about some healthy alternatives to recipes.
Our people love butter, and tomato paste and oil and salt. I don’t blame them. Flavor is good!

So, let’s start talking about what ” Papita ” is.

Normally the word ” papita ” is used to refer to french fries or potato chips.
I guess our papita is our own version of a ” potato chip”
However, it has nothing to do with potatoes. It’s actually some sort of fried plantains. Not like the one that I’ve posted here

The plantain is cut longitudinally or laterally and deep fried.
Papitas are considered street treats in Haiti.
Since I’ve last been, I only used to find them sold in streets.
And trust me if you’re in a car, these merchants won’t let their individually-plastic-bag-packed-papitas go unnoticed. Especially if you have children in the car! They’re awesome and healthy chips.

roadside_papita-vendor-ig
Photo credit: http://studentsrebuild.org/blog/2013-11-01/street-treats-passenger-side-edition

 

But I created ( or so I think) a healthier version of papitas. Easy to make!

Ingredients:

  • plantains
  • olive oil
  • cumin
  • salt

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven at 400F
  2. Cut your plantains into thin slices
  3. Pour olive oil on plantains
  4. Sprinkle cumin and salt all over.
  5. Lay your slices onto parchment paper and bake for 20mns
  6. Enjoy!

N.B. You can add any spice of your choice! Cooking should be an expression of you! 🙂

127128129130131

