Pain patate (Baked sweet potato pudding)

109Mom! That’s how all the nurses and doctors at the hospital were calling me after my delivery. Such a powerful word. Yet, I feel that with that word, the words ” tired, multitasking, doctor, cook, nanny” and more should tag along. I’ve always taken showering and sleeping for granted and now they’re my little daily luxuries.
I’m still surprised that I can actually write this blog post. It’s been 3 weeks since my c-section delivery and I have cooked more than 3 times.
I’ve taken the opportunity of posting about one of the delicious deserts that are eaten in Haiti. I’m actually enjoying it as I’m typing this while my baby angel is taking a nap .

Ingredients:

  • 6 cups of grated white sweet potato (also known as boniatas)
  • 1/2 cup of butter (1 bar)
  • 1 cup of coconut milk
  • 1 cup of evaporated milk
  • 1 cup of grated coconut (optional)
  • 2 cups of sugar
  • dried raisins (optional)
  • 2 mashed bananas
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp of ground cloves (optional)
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp of powdered ginger

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 F
  2. Grate the sweet potatoes. Add butter (or crisco) and other spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, cloves).
  3. Then add  the two cups of sugar and 1 pinch of salt. (and grated coconut if you chose to add some)
  4. In a food processor, mix bananas, coconut milk and evaporated milk. (or you could just mash the bananas into the milk mix)
  5. Add your milk mix to your potato mix inside of a pot over the fire and constantly stir with a spoon until brown.
  6. Add raisins and vanilla extract
  7. Place in a pyrex baking dish to bake for 1 hour or more.

110

