Accra

108Accra is a word used in the Caribbean to define fritters/ beignets.
The Accra is a cousin of the marinade ( which is more of a french origin) .
Accras are usually mixed with vegetables or mostly with fish. (all well blended into the batter)

I love this appetizer. Especially for its half crunchy and  half moist texture. I’ve never cooked it before until now and it was easier than I thought it would be to prepare.
They didn’t last long at all as they were devoured overnight. 🙂 They were so , so ….oh so tasty!!!!
The only thing is that I wish I had a deeper frying pan to add to the crispy side of it.
Oh and trust me! You’re going to want them to be spicy! It adds so much more to the experience!

Serves about 5
Cooking time: 30mns

Ingredients

  • 8 small Malangas – ( I used Dominican Apio)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 3 to 4 cubes of chicken stock
  • 1 leek
  • 1/4  of a red bell pepper (I chose red because it adds to the color of the fritter)
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 to 2 scotch bonnet peppers.
  • 1/2 tsp of baking powder
  • 2 cups of canola or vegetable oil for frying.
  • Smoked Herring or cod fish shreds (optional)

Directions

Before you start, if you have never prepared this appetizer before, I recommend you wear gloves. Malanga / Dominican Apio will get your hands very itchy. Although this was my very first time trying this, I still decided not to wear gloves just because I wanted to experience it. It did itch but it wasn’t that bad since I’d take breaks in between, washing my hands now and then.

  1. Use the smallest part of your grater to grate the malangas. It should come out as a creamy mixture.
  2. Cut the remaining ingredients ( salt, pepper, chicken stock, leek, red bell pepper, garlic, bonnet pepper, baking powder)  and blend. I used a Magic Bullet to mix mine.
  3. Pour  the blended mixture in the grated mixture and mix them very well with a spatula or a spoon. At this point it’s ok to taste the batter to add or adjust as you please.  I love mine very spicy!!!
  4. Pour oil into a deep frying pan. Using a spoon, take a small portion of your batter and drop it into the oil. Repeat until you have enough in your frying pan. Careful not to overcrowd. You’ll start seeing bubbles of oil around your accras. It means that they’re cooking. Feel free to turn them over as you wish, to test if they’re cooked. (They have to brown a little).

Accra is usually served as an appetizer.
It is part of the FRITAY family which consists of anything fried :

  1. griot (fried pork)
  2. fried plantains
  3. marinade,
  4. tassot (fried beef or goat)
  5. fried white sweet potato slices
  6. fried breadfruit slices

All served with a side of pikliz !

 

101102103103a104105106107

