Pate kode

My last post dated from August 12th of this year.
Here I am 3 months later, trying to redeem myself for abandoning you guys!
Well, the least I owe you is to explain the reason behind my long absence.  I am going to keep it short and simple.
I am expecting a little angel and have been working two jobs.  I’ve also been in the process of moving (I still am -_- ) . So with all of this going on, with all the planning and trying to rest, I had to come to the decision of taking a break from the blog. Of course, the fact that I am not really in good shape has not been in my favor either.
Since my due date is rapidly approaching, I thought it would be nice to post recipes of things that I have been craving that some friends and family members have cooked. So the following pictures aren’t of food that I have prepared myself. However keep in mind that I have cooked them in the past.

The following recipe is that of an appetizer that is usually sold in the streets of Haiti but can also be easily prepared at home on your kitchen counter.
It is called pate kode. A vulgar term meaning twisted patties.  I’m not sure why it’s called that way but when I hear its name, it speaks to me that it’s nothing fancy, that it’s something that was prepared by the hand of a hard working person or that it’s just plain adapted from an original version.
I’m sure you’ll love it!

image

Ingredients

  • 2 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. of salt
  • 1 cup of cold water
  • 2 cups of oil

for the filling: Anything of your choice really. I will give you a list of what you can usually find in the Haitian pate kode

  • Aran So (Smoked Herring)
  • Morue ( Cod fish)
  • Hot Dog (Cut in dices or rondelle)
  • Zeu Bouyi ( Boiled egg)
  • Pikiliz
  • Ground beef
  • Or you can mix any two of the above together. Sautéed onions really add to the fillings.

Directions

  1. Prepare your filling
  2. Pour your flour and salt  in a large bowl
  3. Gradually pour in your water as you mix with a large spoon. (As you may already know, I love using a wooden spoon)
  4. Now use your hands to knead the dough. If your mix is too dry, add some more water. If your mix is too sticky, feel free to add a little bit more flour. Only you can tell how consistent your dough is. So if  you feel that you must keep going back and forth with your water and flour, do so!
  5. Sprinkle some flour on your counter. Use a rolling pin to roll out your dough. Make sure that it is not too flat and definitely not too thick.
  6. Use a knife and cut out about 2″x 4″ pieces. Quite frankly it could be of the size of your choice. However, in Haiti we like to make them a bit big, that way you have enough room for a lot of filling.
  7. Using a fork, put some filling on one half of your cut out pieces then, fold the other half over your filling. Use the end of your fork to seal in your filling by pressing on the ends of the dough.
  8. In a deep frying pan, heat your oil. Deep fry your patties. This shouldn’t take long since your filling is already cooked. One way to know that your patties are ready is if your dough has browned.
