Pikliz

85

I love everything with a little bit of hot pepper. I will fearlessly bite into a jalapeno for example,  as I enjoy the” taste” of the hot juice that comes out of it. I just can’t have enough of that hot spicy feeling in my mouth. Did you know that actually ” Spicy ” is not  a taste? Unlike the basic ones ( Sweet, Sour, Bitter, Salty, Umami) , ” Spicy” is actually PAIN.  You would think that the signals/warnings of the nociceptors and thermoreceptors (chemestesis) in your mouth would make you stay away from anything spicy but trust me, after trying my PIKLIZ recipe, you might become a little masochist.

But enough of my Bio, here’ s the recipe.

N.B. I chose not to put any measurements in this recipe because it really depends on your preferences.

Ingredients:

  • carrots
  • cabbage
  • red onions
  • Scotch Bonnet peppers (I’d say 5 or 6 or more . It all depends on how spicy you want it to be)
  • White Vinegar (You need enough to fill your container half way)
  • Shallots
  • Maggi or Adobo

Directions.

  1. Shred your carrots, onions, shallots and cabbage into thin strips
  2. In another container, crush your Scotch Bonnet peppers.
    Add your vinegar, Crush your cubes of maggi or sprinkle Adobo in the mix.
    Mix very well, you can also add some black pepper if you wish
  3. Pour your liquid mix into your vegetables and make sure that your container is at least half full with vinegar. The vegetables will start “sweating” and might release enough liquid that could cover them all. Do not discard of your scotch bonnet peppers.  Leave them in the mix 😉

And that’s about it. You should taste the PIKLIZ mix to try to see if it suits you. More spiciness? More veggies? More vinegar? Speaking of vinegar, the PIKLIZ does not really have an expiration date. It could last you the whole year. Depending on how much you have in your container. Simply refrigerate and serve with almost anything.

In Haiti, it’s mainly served with fried plantains and griot/ tassot etc.
I love mixing it in my rice or simply eat it in a hotdog bun. Trust me, it tastes way better than relish.

