Poisson Gros Sel

 

Haitian Poisson Gros Sel

I have always been scared of fish. There was no such thing serving filet of fish in Haiti at the dinner table. Every one was entitled to a whole fish. And it was your duty to take out the ” bones” .
If you were a child , You’d actually get lucky since the parents would be responsible for “cleaning” your whole fish for you. And even then I’d still be careful. I’d chew for 10 more seconds until I thought it was safe to swallow.
I’m not going to lie, I still do it these days.
But I LOVE FISH !!!
Since I have yet to post a recipe about Haitian seafood cuisine since my potato-codfish one. I decided to share one of my favorites with you guys. You’ll see!!!!  YOU….WILL …. LOVE ….IT

So, this dish is called ” Poisson Gros Sel” which literally means ” Fish Big Salt”
It’s fish cooked with unprocessed big lumps of salt that are crushed at home if desired. These pieces of salt are as big as about 1/2 an inch to 1 inch in diameter and they came directly from the sea.
In America, I guess it’s called SEA SALT.

Preparation time: 1h15mns
Serves : 1 to 2 persons

Ingredients:

  • 1 fish (3lbs) (Preferably , red snapper. I used a porgie)
  • 1 onion
  • 12 shallots or 1/2 a red onion
  • 1 green bell pepper
  • garlic, parsley, thyme to taste
  • 2 tbsps  of sea salt
  • 1/2 cup of sour oranges
  • 1 tbsp of lemon
  • 1 tbsp of vinegar
  • 1 tbsp of Maitre d’ hotel butter ( a sauce of  1tbsp of butter with parsley, salt, pepper, and lemon juice to taste )

Directions:

  1. Clean the fish. And we mean it! CLEAN THE FISH!  Remove the guts, gills etc. Us Haitians take pride in how well our fish is cleaned.  Take it for a bath. ” Soap” it with your sour oranges. When you are finished, discard of the sour orange juice.
  2. Place the fish in a large-enough-bowl and pour your lemon juice on it. Make sure it reaches every part of the fish.
  3. Add your crushed garlic, parsley and thyme with 1 tbsp of sea salt. Leave to marinate for about 1 hour
  4. Cut your onions and bell peppers. Prepare your Maitre d’ Hotel butter.
  5. In a large pan, let them simmer in the Maitre d’ hotel butter. Place your fish in the mixture. Add one more tbsp of sea salt if desired.
  6. In another bowl, add 6 shallots to your vinegar. This will be used for the decoration of your dish.

This dish can be served warm or cold. Usually enjoyed with fried or boiled plantains.

HAPPY COOKING !!!!

Maitre d'hotel sauce

Poisson Gros Sel

Poisson Gros Sel 2

Poisson Gros Sel 3

Poisson Gros Sel 4

