Fried plantains

80

A friend of mine asked me if I could show him how to make some fried plantains.
I promised I would but I never really got to it. So I guess I’ll redeem myself by posting the recipe online today!
Hope you get to have fun trying it out.

Preparation :  7 to 10 mns
Serves: Between 2 to 3 persons

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 2 plantains
  • 1 cup of vegetable oil
  • 2 cups of water
  • 1/2 tbsp of salt or less

Directions:

  1. Cut your plantains transversely  in diagonals/ obliques
  2. Lightly fry them for 2mns until they turn light gold.
  3. Use a tostonera or two flat surfaces (in my case, I used two saucers)  to flatten them one by one (individually)
  4. Add your salt to your water. Stir so that the salt melts. Dip your flattened plantains into the water for less than 1 mn.
  5. Then gradually add them into a deep frying pan with your preheated oil. Fry for 5 mns or less. (Be careful. Drops of oil may fly off the pan because of the water that’s on the plantains).
    I like mine crispy and golden. So I don’t overcook them nor do I put them in the oil too soon so that they don’t turn out to be too mushy.
  6. Rest your plantains on a paper towel so that the oil drains out from them.

You can enjoy your plantains with almost anything . Here’s a list:

  • Guacamole
  • Sardines
  • Griot
  • Salsa sauce
  • Shrimp sauce
  • Smoked Harreng

To name only a few…
I enjoyed mine with some fried sardines.

 Here’s an example of the tostonera. Also known as a plantain smasher

81

