MOUSSA

77

I was going through the pages of my book looking for the next recipe I would tackle. I was aiming for something I’ve never heard of before, something I’ve never tasted.
” Moussa” was the winner. Besides the name, the ingredients of pigeon pea and manioc were quite intriguing.

What in the hell is this?” . I thought to myself
Unfortunately, Google was of no help in finding the origin of the name or dish. And to top it all off, the book didn’t even have an image to at least have an idea of what the food looked like. I guess that’s part of the adventure. You have to take risks and see what comes from it.
Well, it was……. I don’t know .
I think I have a slight idea of why they chose the name ” moussa”  for the dish.  Moussa is very close to the french word ” mousse” which defines any light and airy substance.
Well the outcome was more sticky than airy to me but it was quite thick. I didn’t find this experience pleasant at all . However, I did find it quite interesting. It tasted so good and the mixture of spices gave it that extra quick that made me want to have another serving.

Oh! But the texture was unpleasant. It was just too mucous-like!
Hey! Not everything is perfect but I chose to still post this dish because it was something new and different!.

I recommend to put a little bit less of cassava flour amount in the recipe. So let’s reduce it to 1/2 cup instead of 1 full cup.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cups of cassava (manioc) flour [ I recommend 1/2 cup]
  • 1 cups of  fresh pigeon pea
  • 1 garlic
  • 1/2 green bell pepper
  • parsley, thyme and 2 nail of cloves
  • 1 cubes of maggi
  • 1 hot caribbean pepper
  • 2 tbsps of oil
  • 1 tsp of salt
  • 1 leek
  • 1 tbsp of margarine
  • 2 cups of water

Directions:

  1. Boil your pigeon peas in  water. (This should take 1 hour to 1 1/2 hour)
  2. Grind garlic, parsley, thyme, cloves, maggi, salt and leek with a mortar and pestle.
  3. Cut green bell peppers into dices.
  4. Heat oil in a big pot ( 3 to 5 mns).
  5. Add the spices, green bell peppers and pigeon peas. Fry for about 5 mns.
  6. Add water and let boil.
  7. Slowly add the cassava flour. Make sure you stir regularly as you do so. Beat the substance for about 15 mns. Add some carribbean hot pepper to taste.

Moussa is served with indigenous chicken with ” timalice” sauce

78 79

