Konparèt

25

Konparet is known as the bread of  Jeremie, Grande-Anse, Haiti
It’s a specialty of the region. And every time I would eat it, I’d always think to myself : ” This tastes like cake but it feels like bread “.
This bread-cake would be the size of a burger bun and quite frankly I have yet to finish eating one in just one day. I’d always save the rest for the following day. Mmm ^_^ I  can still remember the ginger, cinnamon and coconut flavors having a fight in my taste buds.
I haven’t had one in the past 4 to 5 years and I definitely need to take a bite! So why not have a taste of my own cooking? Here it goes:

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups of flour
  • 1tbsp of cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp of salt
  • 2tsps of double acting baking powder.
  • 1/2 cup of butter ( 1 stick)
  • 1/2 cup of light brown sugar or to taste
  • 1/2 cup of honey or to taste
  • 2 eggs
  •  1 1/2 tbsps of fresh ginger juice. (peel gingers, grate  and press residue on fine strainer. Retain the juice and throw out the residue). Fig.2
  • 2tsps of lime zest
  • 1 cup (8oz) of crystallized ginger finely chopped.
  • 1 3/4 cup of  grated coconut
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp of almond extract

Directions:

  1. Mix flour, cinnamon, salt and baking powder into a bowl
  2. Cream your butter into a mixing bowl , then add your light brown sugar and honey to the butter cream until it is homogeneous.  Then add your eggs one after the other, mixing in between to make sure that the egg is well blended into the mixture.
  3. Add your crystallized ginger, coconut, vanilla extract, lime zest, ginger juice and almond extract to your butter mixture
  4. Slowly add your flour mixture in the butter one while stirring with a sturdy wooden spoon until you get a sticky dough.
  5.  Divide dough into balls or disks (For this,  you might want to spread some flour on your working surface so that you can easily roll them. the flour helps the dough not stick to your hands).
  6. Grease a large cookie sheet with butter and gently place your balls/disks on the surface. Make sure there’s enough room in between them (about 2 to 4 inches apart).
  7. Bake for 30 mns or less at 350 F
  8. They should spread out a little , Then start rising.

Konparet is usally served with milk (in my case I enjoyed it with some soy milk) or coffee. Konparet is usally hard , really hard !!!!  But because I left mine in the oven for less than 30 mns they turned out moist and very good. Everyone at home complimented me and even said it tasted better than the usual ones they eat in Haiti. 

26

17 Cream your butter

18  Fig.2 Ginger juice

19

Divide dough into balls or disks20 21

Disks are about 3 inches apart .

22 23 24

