Banana beignets

Banana Beignets

It’s carnival time in Haiti and I don’t know if I should be ashamed to say that I have yet to attend any carnival events over there. My parents were never a big fan of it.
So, the most that I would see would be from standing on my grandmother’s balcony watching the ” rara ”  passing by in our neighborhood streets. ( You can click the word to have a visual idea of what I’m speaking of)

Fruit beignets are the most traditional recipes of Carnival deserts. Especially BANANA beignets. I think they’re far better than donuts to tell you the truth.
If you want to step outside of the Haitian customs , you can enjoy them with whipped cream and strawberries or any fruits of your choice!

—–
I’ve never tried making beignets and at this present moment I’m trying to follow a strict healthy diet. So I’m staying away from anything fried. I can’t cook beignets just yet since everybody at home is watching their weight. (only vegetables and fruits in the fridge right now)
But to stay in the spirit of the carnival , I still decided to post the recipe (which is a combination of a given and researched one).  It’s a slightly altered version of this one. Click here
So you guys can already guess that the above picture is not mine! Photograph by Andrew Mccaul

OK here it goes….

Ingredients

  • 3 mashed overripe bananas
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup of flour
  • 1 tsp of baking powder
  • 1tsp of vanilla essence
  • 1/3 cup of sugar + another 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 1tsp of cinnamon + 1/4 tsp of cinnamon
  • 2 tbsps of vegetable oil (optional)
  • 1/2 cup of evaporated milk (optional)

Directions:

  1. Mix flour, baking powder, salt , 1 tsp of cinnamon and the 1/3 cup of sugar in a large bowl.
  2. Mix egg, milk, mashed banana, 2tbsp of vegetable oil and  vanilla essence in another recipient
  3. Slowly add the mashed banana mixture to the dry ingredients one.
  4. Separate little portions and fry.
  5. Prepare remaining 1/2 cup cup of sugar + 1/4 tsp of cinnamon for dipping after frying.

…….aaaaand serve your appetizer!

