Spaghetti à l’haïtienne (Haitian spaghetti)

DSC_0976Ok! So I never really understood what people in America love about the way they make spaghetti. I mean, I’ve tried it…ok it’s edible but people! You gotta try something different.
Something other than red sauce and cheese.
I’ve received several request asking me to share a post on how to make Haitian spaghetti. And since I felt extremely hungry tonight, I decided to cook it for dinner. You’re gonna love it! It’s quick, easy and has much more flavor to it.
Here it goes!

Ingredients
Olive oil
Onions
Bell pepper (if you want)
Black pepper
Crushed red pepper
Lemon zest
Garlic
Any type of meat (I chose pieces of slices of honey smoked ham. In Haiti people mostly have herring in their spaghetti)
Salt
Green onion
1 pot of water
Tomato paste (not too much! Just 1tsp)
Spaghetti (of course! )

Directions
1. Let the pot of water reach the boiling point. Add green onion, salt, and a teaspoon of olive oil. Then add your spaghetti. Leave until cooked (I usually eat my spaghetti al dente; meaning not boiled to its maximum).Once you judge it to be cooked, drain the water out of the spaghetti.

2. Add olive oil (about 1tbsp) to another pot. Let it heat for 1-2mns. Add your onions, bell peppers, meat (of your choice), garlic, black pepper and tomato paste. They should be fried in the next 2mns. If the mixture seems too little or is drying up, add some water to it (again, do so gradually. Do not pour all your water at once)

3. Lower your fire. Add your spaghetti to the pot. Add lemon zest, crushed red pepper, and adjust to taste. The spaghetti should be lightly sauteed with the frying mixture.
Done!

Sometimes I add ketchup and parmesan cheese to my plate. Gives it an extra umph!
Other ingredients that you can add to your pasta are parsley , oregano and thyme.
Enjoy and don’t hesitate to let me know when you try it! ! !

DSC_0975 DSC_0978

