Bonbons au beurre (Butter/Sugar cookies)

DSC_0522aThese past few days I have been missing home more than anything. It is freezing over here in NY and I miss those warm summer days at grandma’s house, patiently waiting on her to finish baking her “dous kokoye” or “bonbon au beurre” .
Today, January 12th 2013 marks 3 years since the earthquake in Haiti happened. My grandparents lost their home in that tragedy along with a few belongings. Grandma lost her cookbook. The only thing that I was hoping she would’ve passed on to me; a ” grimoire ” of cooking recipes that could’ve been passed from one generation to another.  Unfortunately, it won’t happen 😦
I could not find any ingredients that could come closer to her recipe than that I found online.
There it is; I found it on allrecipes.com

Ingredients:

2 3/4 cups of all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon of baking soda
1/2 teaspoonbaking powder
1 cup of butter (two butter sticks)
1 1/2 cups of white sugar
1egg
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). In a small bowl, stir together flour, baking soda, and baking powder. Set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until smooth. Beat in egg and vanilla. Gradually blend in the dry ingredients. Roll rounded teaspoonfuls of dough into balls, and place onto ungreased cookie sheets.
  3. Bake 8 to 10 minutes in the preheated oven, or until golden. Let stand on cookie sheet two minutes before removing to cool on wire racks.
