Labouyi farine France (Flour porridge)

Wheat PorridgeBack home, in the weekly menu, it was guaranteed that the all purpose flour (also known as Farine France) ingredient would be listed.
Either as breakfast or supper, mother would make sure that we would have porridge! Flour porridge to be more precise. When I moved here in New York, the only porridge-like dish that was offered to me was oatmeal. I grew very fond of it as I would eat it frequently in the morning with maple syrup and blueberries . YUM !
But it would just not quite cut it for me. It was far from reminding me the taste of  our morning Akasan (some kind of corn porridge/ I will soon post about it) or our evening labouyi of banana, cassava, potato and farine france (flour).
I was craving it one day so bad after school that I disparately called up a friend on the phone and asked her to teach me how to cook it!.

FLOUR PORRIDGE

Ingredients
3 cups of  Water
1 can of evaporated milk (5oz)
2 tbsp of sugar
3/4 or 1/2 cup of All purpose flour
Cinnamon
1 tsp Vanilla extract
2 Star anise
zest of lemon
1 tsp of grated nutmeg

Directions
Pour 2 cups of water in a Pot and let it boil . After a while, you can add your spices and sugar.
Leave them to boil to form a tea-like substance.
Pour the remaining cup of water into a bowl while the 2 cups of water are still boiling with the spices.
Add the flour gradually into it. Stir until homogeneous and clump-free.
Add your flour mixture into your tea mixture. Stir continuously as you slowly add the milk.
Stir until thick enough (to your liking).
NEVER cover your porridge.

I would usually eat my porridge with pieces of bread that I would rip with my fingers and let them sink into the creamy dish. I’d pick it up with my spoon and enjoy the sweet and warm dish!
But today as I am more health-aware, I prefer eating it with fruits and sometimes I add a lite maple syrup to it.Wheat Porridge

Bon appetit 😉

P.S. More holiday-like recipes coming up. I miss home so much!

