Touffé d’ Aubergine et de Mirliton

“CHAYOTE SQUASH (militon) must not be eaten by a man, or he will become partially impotent.”
Bryant C. Freeman, Ph.D. 
Third-World Folk Beliefs and Practices: Haitian Medical Anthropology. La Presse Evangélique

Wikipedia says: “A 1998 study at the Institute of Biology of São Paulo State University, Brazil, found eggplant juice to significantly reduce weight, plasma cholesterol levels, and aortic cholesterol content in hypercholesterolemicrabbits.”

So, as I was reading the PDF file of the “Third-World Folk Beliefs and Practices: Haitian Medical Anthropology” , I couldn’t help myself from laughing at the above quote. My mother would regularly cook this dish at home. If I can remember, it would be our Tuesday dish accompanied with white rice and baked chicken. Most people in Haiti eat it with whole crabs (cyrique).
Anyways, I’m sure the quote above is far from true, otherwise I wouldn’t have been born.
I hope this doesn’t jeopardize my  male-readers count. Right?
So, I’ll be courageous enough to share the link to the PDF with you. Here goes nothing:
http://www2.ku.edu/~haitiancreole/med_anthropology/medical_anthropology.pdf
I found it to be quite interesting. Oh my, I guarantee that you will find the most amazing and intriguing lines about Haitians’ mentality. Who would’ve thought I could find out so much while learning how to cook !
So there it is :

Eggplant and chayote tuft

Ingredients 
1 cup of eggplant
1 cup of chayote
1/4 cup of  red bell pepper
1/2 cup of cherry tomatoes
1 tbsp of garlic
1 cup of chopped onions
salt and black pepper at will
1 to 2 tbsp of olive oil
2 tbsp of margarine
1 tbsp of tomato paste.

Directions
Wash and dry your vegetables. Peel and cut the chayote and eggplant into dices.  Leave them to boil in light salted water.
Once this is done, use a pestle and a solid bowl to crush the chayote and eggplant.
Pour your oil into a dry pot. Leave until hot enough.
Add your onions, tomatoes,  red bell pepper and tomato paste.
Add your boiled chayote and eggplant to the mix.
Season the mixture with garlic, black pepper, salt and margarine.
Leave for a few minutes. (if necessary, add a few tbsps of water)

     

