Saumon et salade d’avocat

You don’t need to lose weight, you look so perfect!
-_- Seriously? I really get tired of hearing that.

Maybe I want to lose some fat weight and gain muscle weight. Or maybe I just want to eat healthy?
This morning, I woke up feeling tired of wanting to do certain things and just sitting there waiting for them to happen. So I decided to start with my body. If it’s healthy and happy , obviously my mind and soul will be victims of such delightful effect.
So for breakfast, I had a protein shake and for lunch I prepared one of my favorites! Sauteed salmon and avocado salad.

Although this wasn’t part of what I planned on cooking this weekend, I thought of sharing this recipe of mine with you.  This recipe is not a typical native  Haitian meal. It’s the first thing that I taught myself how to cook, being away from home.
So, for those of you who don’t know how to cook Haitian food but would like to be close to remembering home as well as cook a meal in no time, here’s a little something of mine:

Ingredients for the salmon
– 1 filet of salmon
– 1 carrot
– 1/2 a lemon
– 1 tsp of black pepper
– 1 tsp of salt
– 1 tsp of  parsley
–  1/2 tbsp of garlic
– 1tsp of honey
– 3 slices of tomato
– 1/4 of green bell pepper
– 2 slices of white onions
–  1 tbsp of olive oil ( you could use less)

Ingredients for the salad
lettuce
– 1 slice of avocado.

Directions
Clean your salmon filet by removing the scales off of it (I usually use a knife for that). Use the 1/2 of your lemon to  clean it. Once you are done, use a fork and poke several holes all over your salmon.
After using your mortar and pestle to crush your garlic, spread it all over the salmon. Add your parsley, black pepper and salt. Let  the salmon marinate in the lemon juice and garlic for a while as you’re getting ready to go to the next step. This allows for the salmon to absorb the flavors.
Cut your onions, green bell pepper, carrot and tomato all together. Pour your olive oil into a skillet and wait until it’s warm.
You can then add your salmon .  Leave it on one side for 5 mns. Once you judge that it’s cooked, turn it on its other side for the same amount of time.
As you’re doing this, you can add the onions, tomato, carrots and green bell pepper to it.
Use a brush to coat your salmon with honey. It should glaze it a little and give it a nice texture.
And voila! C’ est fini 🙂

For the salad, just cut your slice of avocado into dices and your lettuce into pieces of your taste. You can add a dressing of your choice. But because the avocado is already high in cholesterol, I usually don’t add any dressings to this salad.

Bon appetit!

