Tatouni & Croquettes d’ igname

What’s the worst that could happen? If it turns out to be bad, we’ll just order Chinese

Finally sitting down on my couch with my feet up and my back is experiencing much relief and happiness!
I never knew (or maybe I forgot) how tiring it was to cook ! I guess I got too familiar with the ” pop it in the microwave” way.

So, based on popular demand from the poll, I decided to cook Tatouni with Croquettes d’ igname
I’ve gathered all my ingredients and was ready to cook ; only to find out that the directions were so poor!
I had to figure everything out on my own.

Directions as simple as “Mix the ingredients and pour everything into the pot”  were to be followed for me to cook my dishes.
Anyways! Enough complaining.

I was intrigued by the name “Tatouni”  but still today cannot find its meaning. Tatouni is simply Pork!
In case you guys aren’t big fans of pork, you could easily replace it with beef.
Ok, so before we start, I must warn you. Haitian cooking has a lot to do with improvising.
This must explain why the recipe in the book lacked ingredients and specific directions.
So I added my own ingredients and made up my own directions!

TATOUNI

Ingredients :
3lbs of pork shoulder cut into cubes
1 hot pepper
1 cup of onions
2 carrots

INGREDIENTS ADDED BY ME:
2 cubes of Maggi
Garlic , as needed
6 green onions
1/2 cup of lemon juice
1/2 tablespoon of black pepper
thyme
Parsley
1tsp Cloves
1 tbsp of Honey
1/2 cup of green peppers

Directions
Cut onions and cubes and leave aside
Clean the meat. Cut lemon in half and rub against meat.
In the mean time, boil a pot of water with thyme, parsley, garlic and Cloves.
Once you are done, pour the hot steamy water over the meat.
Use pestle and mortar to grind your  seasoning: black pepper, hot pepper, garlic, Maggi seasoning and green onions
Use a fork to poke the meat all over. This allows the seasoning to sink into it.
Wear your gloves and massage the meat with this seasoning.
Once you are done , pour two tbsp of oil into a pot. (Use less if preferred since the meat has its own grease)
Pour carrots and green peppers into oil, then pour meat.
Laisser mijoter! (allow to simmer) for about 30mns to 1 hour
Once the meat is almost tender/well cooked (this usually takes about 2 hours) , add onions and honey.
Vegetables and starch are usually side dishes of Tatouni. 

The Corquettes d’ Igname were not my favorite. They tasted a bit bitter to me. But that’s normal
Ingredients :
2lbs of yam/ nam
1tsp of garlic
1tbsp of parsley
1tsp of salt
1cup of oil
5 eggs
1/2 cup of condensed milk
1 pinch of nutmeg
1cup of flour
1cup of bread crumbs.

Directions
Peel and cut the yam into cubes. Boil into salted water.
Crush the cubes with your pestle.
Add milk, nutmeg , 3 egg yolks, garlic and parsley
Leave for 5mns , to cool
Roll into individual croquettes
Roll into flour, then into remaining 2 egg yolks and finally into the breadcrumbs. (A bechamel sauce could replace the egg yolks)
FRY away! 🙂
Serve with dipping! In my case, I used ranch

Tatouni & Croquettes d’ ignameTatouni & Croquettes d' Igname 2

I think I really enjoyed the Tatouni. As for the croquette d’ ignames, I think next time I will use something else. Maybe yuca or squash.
Awaiting feedback!!!!!!!!!!!
Please, cook, cook , cook!

